Starting React Native

Starting React Native

So, how are you guys doing? I hope it's all good. So this is my first blog and I am super happy to announce that I'll be sharing my knowledge about React Native and trying to share its magic as far as I can. I know it is a long path ahead and I'll try to keep up and try to explain things more simply. In this, we'll be building a lot of apps and there'll be a lot of explanation of it and many more things that'll be coming in future blogs. So, without any further ado, let's start.

What is React Native?

So, the first question is - What is React Native? React Native (also known as RN) is a JavaScript framework that is used to develop mobile apps (Yay! Now I can become a mobile app developer). Ya, I know that feeling and excitement of developing mobile apps nowadays is on another level. If you're familiar with JavaScript and React.js then React Native is not a big deal.

Now, the next question - Why use React Native? By developing apps using React Native, we don't need to write separate code for Android and iOS. Wow, that's a cool feature. Because we've to write code only one time, it saves a lot of time, reduces development costs and makes it easier to maintain the code.

Now, if you're aware of HTML and CSS, you should know about using tags and styling like Flexbox and other things. React Native is also similar to that syntax and semantics. That's just a quick heads up and we'll cover up that later.

Prerequisites of React Native

So, I've read a lot of docs where it is mentioned that we'll need knowledge of React to learn React Native, but we don't need any knowledge of React. We just need a basic understanding of JavaScript or TypeScript. Ya, I know you all are shocked but it's the truth. Now, don't confuse about JavaScript or TypeScript; both are similar just some minor differences which I'll discuss in future blogs. I'll try to explain all the things as we go through the topics and projects.

Conclusion

So, I think that's all for this first blog in which we've discussed what is React Native, why to use it and the prerequisites of it. I hope you find it informative and I'll see you in my next blog. Happy coding.